Jam & Kaya Cafe at PJ Palms Sports Center

20140603_145710Loads of cafes these days? It’s my last stretch before the boyfriend heads back to work and I actually start work. Oh woe is me beginning my long and everlasting stint as an employed person.

But never mind! I have this to tide me over!

20140603_150137Jam & kaya cafe is a unique, quaint little cafe tucked in a corner of the sports center near Amcorp Mall in PJ, the PJ Palms Sports Center. It’s in a small corner building facing the swimming pool, in a cottage-like establishment that can be a little difficult to locate if you’re unfamiliar with the area.

20140603_150128Unlike many other cafe’s I’ve been to though, Jam & Kaya struck me the most, and for one I loved the clean cut, bright and happy enviroment as opposed to the rustic and overused themes for most cafes. It’s walls are whit washed with large windows, and everything else seems minimalistic, yet pretty.

20140603_145619While I wanted to like the food there very much though, they only came up so so, sad to say. The selections for all-day breakfasts were aplenty, but the mains and pasta’s were sorely lacking, as were the drinks.

20140603_150819I’ve heard reviews about their pancakes, so naturally, the sweet toothed rabbit that is I would order them. Their signature jam & kaya pancakes came with two pancakes each with kaya and jam respectively, drizzled with more maple syrup, and littered with berries and topped with a scoop of ice cream.

It isn’t anything to be complained about sure, but it lacks the special oomph, the kind that makes me close my eyes in delight as I take the first bite…. kinda like the reaction I had with the first bite of the waffles I had in Nutmeg.

20140603_151354The boy was as hungry as a cow when he got there, since he had to settle some stuff with his insurance agent in the morning. He was disappointed at the lack of mains available though, but even the fish & chips he ordered was lacking. Again, the fries and the salad were normal, but he commented that the dory fish just tasted like something out of the factory.

While the cafe is quaint and gorgeous, it simply lacks the oomph factor in its food that’ll make me return.

 

 

Leave a comment